wvuLogo

LIBRARIES

Ask a Librarian

Biology Databases

Academic Search Complete

Full Text

Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications....

(More Info)


AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online

Full Text

A science and technology encyclopedia containing more than 8,000 articles written by the leading figures in their fields, including 30 Nobel Prize winners, and edited and illustrated with the non-specialist in mind....

(More Info)


Agricola

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators....

(More Info)


Agricola (Ebscohost)

The AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) database contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences....

(More Info)


American Men and Women of Science - 24th Edition

Full Text

Profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists....

(More Info)


Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts offers more than 800,000 citations and abstracts from the world's published research in aquatic sciences....

(More Info)


Biological Abstracts - See Biosis Previews

Biosis Previews contains Biological Abstracts and more, searchable back to 1926 and cross-searchable with Web of Science....

(More Info)


BioOne

Full Text

BioOne is an aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals....

(More Info)


BioOne Abstracts and Index

A sophisticated search engine for articles in BioOne, an aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals....

(More Info)


Biopolymers Online

Full Text

Biopolymers Online provides a comprehensive overview of the occurrence, metabolism, and applications of all important biopolymer classes....

(More Info)


BIOSIS Previews

Index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more....

(More Info)


Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science

Conference Proceedings Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science, helps researchers access the published literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide....

(More Info)


Dictionary of Scientific Biography (Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography)

Full Text

Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists....

(More Info)


EbscoHost

Full Text

All EBSCOhost databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Animal Science

Full Text

Encyclopedia of Animal Science encompasses animal physiology, animal growth and development, animal behavior, animal reproduction and breeding, alternative approaches to animal maintenance, meat science and muscle biology, farmed animal welfare and bioethics, and food safety....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Life Sciences

Full Text

Provides access to articles covering all areas of life science, written by scientists and researchers- plus extensive tables and figures....

(More Info)


Entomology Abstracts

Entomology Abstracts provides bibliographic information and abstracts for recent research reports of direct relevance to entomology, with coverage including insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans, and terrestrial isopods....

(More Info)


Faculty of 1000

Full Text

Faculty of 1000 is an online literature awareness service comprising thousands of selections and evaluations of the most important papers within all areas of biological and medical research....

(More Info)


GreenFILE

Full Text

Scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering human impact on the environment, including the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects....

(More Info)


Journal Citation Reports

Journal impact factors and citation data for 7,500 scholarly and technical journals....

(More Info)


JSTOR

Full Text

JSTOR is an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years....

(More Info)


JSTOR Global Plants

Full Text

JSTOR Global Plants provides access to content such as plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials....

(More Info)


NANOnetBASE

Full Text

NANOnetBASE is an online collection of nanoscience and nanotechnology reference works....

(More Info)


Oceanic Abstracts

Oceanic Abstracts is focused on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment....

(More Info)


OVID Resources

Full Text

This portal provides access to the WVU journal subscriptions through OVID, a search portal for tables of contents and abstracts of ALL OVID journals, MEDLINE through OVID, the OVID Nursing Database, and Zoological Record....

(More Info)


Plant Management Network

Full Text

The Plant Management Network is a nonprofit publisher of peer-reviewed, applied journals; pest management efficacy reports, proceedings, webcasts, images, and other information that supports the land-grant missions of teaching, research, and extension....

(More Info)


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Full Text

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997....

(More Info)


Science Citation Index Expanded

Science Citation Index Expanded, a part of the Web of Science is made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp....

(More Info)


ScienceDirect

Full Text

ScienceDirect is an electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full-text, peer-reviewed articles....

(More Info)


SciTech Connect

Full Text

SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information....

(More Info)


Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources....

(More Info)


Web of Science

The Web of Science includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, and is made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp....

(More Info)


Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is an index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians....

(More Info)


Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering

Full Text

The Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering contains a large biomedical engineering (BME) knowledge base....

(More Info)


Zoological Record

Zoological Record provides coverage of worldwide zoological literature....

(More Info)



Help Accessing Databases

Databases By Title

#ABCDEFG

HIJKLMNO

PRSTUVWZ

Databases by Resource Type