wvuLogo

LIBRARIES

Ask a Librarian

Social Sciences Databases

Abstracts in Anthropology

Abstracts for articles in several hundred anthropology periodicals, covering a broad spectrum of significant current topics....

(More Info)


Academic Search Complete

Full Text

Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications....

(More Info)


Accessible Archives

Full Text

Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals, particulary useful for civil war and genealogical research....

(More Info)


AgeLine

Focusing on the population aged 50+, the source for the literature of social gerontology, including related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy....

(More Info)


America: History and Life

Covers US and Canadian history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews....

(More Info)


American Civil War: Letters and Diaries

Full Text

Primary sources including diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide access to views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home....

(More Info)


APS Online - American Periodical Series Online

Full Text

APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II....

(More Info)


Archive Finder

A current directory of 5,400 archives and 124,400 collections of primary source material across the US, UK and Ireland, enabling researchers to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work and find contact information for the repositories....

(More Info)


ArticleFirst

An index of articles from the contents pages of 15,000 journals covering humanities, business, popular culture, science, social science, technology and medicine....

(More Info)


Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online

Full Text

Provides access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship in the field of sociology....

(More Info)


Book Review Digest Plus, 1983-

Full Text

Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides review excerpts and over 100,000 full text reviews....

(More Info)


Book Review Digest Retrospective, 1905-1982

Full Text

Book Review Digest Retrospective provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction....

(More Info)


British Periodicals

Full Text

Digital images of 500 periodicals, published from the 1680s to the 1930s, tracing the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals....

(More Info)


Communication and Mass Media Complete

Full Text

Provides references to journal articles, handbooks, and encyclopedias related to communication and mass media....

(More Info)


Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science and Humanities

Conference Proceedings Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science, helps researchers access the published literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide....

(More Info)


CQ Public Affairs Collection

Full Text

In-depth reports on public policy issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas....

(More Info)


CQ Researcher

Full Text

In-depth reports and analysis on political and social issues, each covering a single theme and providing solid background information, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U....

(More Info)


CQ Weekly

Full Text

Legislative news and analysis from CQ Press, includes current information plus the full text of all articles published since 1983....

(More Info)


Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1630-1800

Full Text

37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides provide primary source documents on nearly every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft....

(More Info)


Early English Books Online

Full Text

Full image reproductions of early English texts, from Pollard & Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue (STC I) and Wing’s Short-title Catalogue (STCII)....

(More Info)


eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Full Text

A collection of e-books covering a wide variety of subjects-- arts, humanities, business, education, computers, science, social science, and technology....

(More Info)


EbscoHost

Full Text

All EBSCOhost databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines....

(More Info)


EconLit

Indexing for journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics....

(More Info)


Economist Historical Archive

Full Text

A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003....

(More Info)


eHRAF Archaeology

Full Text

eHRAF Archaeology is an online cross-cultural database containing descriptive information on archaeological traditions of the world and is is unique because each archaeological tradition contains a variety of full-text source documents (books, articles, and dissertations) that have been indexed and organized according to HRAF's comprehensive tradition and subject classification systems: the Outline of Archaeological Traditions (OAT), and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM)....

(More Info)


eHRAF World Cultures

Full Text

The eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural database containing descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups from around the world-- unique because each culture contains a variety of full-text source documents (books, articles, and dissertations) that have been indexed and organized according to HRAF's comprehensive culture and subject classification systems: the Outline of World Cultures (OWC), and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM)....

(More Info)


Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Full Text

138,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, digitized and fully searchable....

(More Info)


Empire Online

Full Text

Original documents, primary source material, essays, and biographical information realted to empire studies, with an emphasis on the British Empire....

(More Info)


Evidence Database on Aging Care

Evidence Database on Aging Care (EDAC), formerly known as ACRO, is created by the Social Work Leadership Institute to help scholars, policy analysts, and advocates stay on top of the latest research and innovations in aging care, including health care, social services, and workforce issues....

(More Info)


FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus

Full Text

Offers coverage of academic and popular film journals....

(More Info)


FirstSearch

A collection of online databases, providing coverage of much of the journal literature for academic disciplines....

(More Info)


Fold3 (Formerly Footnote)

Full Text

Historical documents collections, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U S Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents....

(More Info)


FORENSICnetBASE

Full Text

A collection of books in the fields of forensics and law enforcement....

(More Info)


Foundation Center Databases - Available in Downtown Campus Library Only

New

Foundation Directory Online, Foundation Grants to Individuals Online, and Philanthropy In/Sight provide extensive information for grant-seekers....

(More Info)


GenderWatch

Full Text

Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, providing historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years....

(More Info)


Global Road Warrior

Full Text

Cultural, geographic and travel information for all countries....

(More Info)


Google Scholar

Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions....

(More Info)


GPO Monthly Catalog

A record of US government documents published since 1976, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc....

(More Info)


Handbook of Child Psychology 6th Edition

Full Text

The handbook spans the entire field of child psychology including topics such as spirituality, social understanding, and non-verbal communication....

(More Info)


HAPI (Health & Psychosocial Instruments)

Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides access to information on measurement instruments (i....

(More Info)


HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly)

Full Text

Harper's Weekly is an important primary resource for examining 19th-century America, providing a comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century....

(More Info)


Historical Abstracts

Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering world history....

(More Info)


ICPSR -Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research

New

ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data which can be used for secondary research, instructional activities, and to write articles, papers or theses - set up MyData account to begin....

(More Info)


International Medieval Bibliography

Topics related to the Middle Ages - primarily focused on Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa - includes journal articles, conference proceedings, and book chapters....

(More Info)


Iter

Scholarship related to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), including citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies)....

(More Info)


Journal Citation Reports

Journal impact factors and citation data for 7,500 scholarly and technical journals....

(More Info)


JSTOR

Full Text

JSTOR is an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years....

(More Info)


Lexis Nexis Academic

Full Text

Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 newspapers (including the New York Times), magazines, business, legal, medical, and reference publications, including US federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news....

(More Info)


Library Literature

Materials on libraries and information science....

(More Info)


LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts

LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists....

(More Info)


MarciveWeb DOCS

Covers all types of US government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc....

(More Info)


Masterfile Premier (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Full text for nearly 1,750 general reference periodicals with information dating as far back as 1975....

(More Info)


Mental Measurements Yearbook With Tests in Print

Full Text

A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska....

(More Info)


MRI Mediamark Reporter (Registration Required)

Full Text

Registration with WVU email is required for each user; data available includes consumer demographic information, product and media preferences, and spending habits....

(More Info)


National Geographic Virtual Library

Full Text New

This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos....

(More Info)


New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics

Full Text

Standard work in economics, containing essays by eminent contributors from across the spectrum of methodological and ideological schools....

(More Info)


OECD iLibrary Statistics

Full Text New

Statistics from the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, including key tables, searchable data sets, and fact books....

(More Info)


Opinion Archives

Full Text

Scholarly opinion journals in politics, arts, and culture, including the full text of New Yorker, Alternative, Dissent, Moment, The Nation, New Leader, New Republic, Harper's, Commentary, National Review, NACLA, Commonweal, American Spectator, Orion, The Progressive, Washington Monthly, Weekly Standard, and NY Review of Books....

(More Info)


Oxford African American Studies Center (One User)

Full Text

A collection of scholarship, including 8,000 articles and primary source documents, focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture....

(More Info)


PAIS Archive

References to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements from documents related to public policy, 1915-1976....

(More Info)


PAIS International

References to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more....

(More Info)


PapersFirst

Conference papers, including all published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting papers received by The British Library Document Supply Centre....

(More Info)


Philosopher's Index

Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields....

(More Info)


Plant Management Network

Full Text

The Plant Management Network is a nonprofit publisher of peer-reviewed, applied journals; pest management efficacy reports, proceedings, webcasts, images, and other information that supports the land-grant missions of teaching, research, and extension....

(More Info)


Points of View Reference Center (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Term paper resources and topics - Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services....

(More Info)


Polling the Nations

Full Text

compilation of 14,000+ public opinion surveys conducted in the United States and 80 other countries from 1986 to the present....

(More Info)


POPLINE (POPulation Information onLINE)

POPLINE is the world's largest bibliographic reproductive health database....

(More Info)


Project Muse

Full Text

Project MUSE provides searchable, full text access to more than 100 academic journals....

(More Info)


Proquest Congressional

Full Text

Abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources....

(More Info)


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Full Text

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997....

(More Info)


Proquest Historical Newspapers

Full Text

Full digital images of the New York Times, 1851-1999, and the Wall Street Journal, 1889-1985....

(More Info)


PsycArticles

Full Text

Full text articles covering general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research....

(More Info)


PsychiatryOnline

Full Text

Web portal that includes the DSM-IV-TR and a selection of journals, practice guidelines and textbooks....

(More Info)


PsycINFO

Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology....

(More Info)


PsycTHERAPY

Full Text

PsycTHERAPY is a database of ~ 300 streaming psychotherapy demonstrations featuring some of the most renowned therapists in North America working with participants on a host of therapeutic topics....

(More Info)


Reader's Guide Retrospective

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, the standard index to articles in magazines, covering from 1890 to 1982....

(More Info)


Research Starters Education

Full Text

Research Starters - Education provides students with a solid foundation for their research and assignments, as well as overview information on topics relevant to their studies....

(More Info)


Safari Books Online

Full Text

Current IT, business and desk reference eBooks, including guides to application software, and programming....

(More Info)


Sage Criminology

Full Text

Electronic journal collection covering criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, correctons, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence....

(More Info)


Sage Reference Online

Full Text

A collection of authoratative encyclopedias in the social sciences, including coverage for anthropology, criminology, environment, psychology, research methods, sociology, and women's studies....

(More Info)


Sage Research Methods

Full Text Trial New

Trial ends on Apr 29, 2014 – A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects, linking over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools....

(More Info)


Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources....

(More Info)


Social Sciences Citation Index

Part of the Web of Science, covers high impact research journals in each field of the social sciences and offers cited reference searching as an option for tracing scholarship....

(More Info)


Social Services Abstracts

Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development....

(More Info)


Social Work Abstracts

Coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965....

(More Info)


Sociological Abstracts

Research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences....

(More Info)


Springer eBooks

Full Text

Springer eBooks includes more than 23,000 eBook titles, divided into twelve subject collections: behavioral science; computer science; biomedical and life sciences; engineering; medicine; mathematics and statistics; humanities, social sciences and law; physics and astronomy; business and economics; earth and environmental science; chemistry and materials science; professional and applied computing; and architecture and design....

(More Info)


Statista

Full Text New

A statistics portal that integrates data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform - categorized into 21 market sectors, providing direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets....

(More Info)


Tests in Print (Now Included in Mental Measurements Yearbook)

Full Text

A comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language....

(More Info)


The Civil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1843-1877

Full Text New

Primary source documents for research into the American Civl War - provides access to more than 150 newspapers, 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera....

(More Info)


Times Digital Archive

Full Text New

Digital images of the Times (London) complete from 1785 to 2006....

(More Info)


U.S. Congressional Serial Set

Full Text

Historic reports, documents and journals of the US Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes....

(More Info)


Vanderbilt Television News Archive

View online news video - or borrow custom clips for a fee which you pay with a personal credit card - Provides index for regularly scheduled newscasts from 1968 to the present from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News....

(More Info)


Web of Science

The Web of Science includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, and is made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp....

(More Info)


Women's Studies International

Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research....

(More Info)


Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy....

(More Info)



Help Accessing Databases

Databases By Title

#ABCDEFG

HIJKLMNO

PRSTUVWZ

Databases by Resource Type