wvuLogo

LIBRARIES

Ask a Librarian

Public Affairs & law Databases

19th Century Masterfile

An index to nineteenth century periodicals, newspapers and government documents, including British Parliamentary debates....

(More Info)


Academic Search Complete

Full Text

Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications....

(More Info)


American Factfinder

Full Text

A source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U....

(More Info)


Book Review Digest Plus, 1983-

Full Text

Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides review excerpts and over 100,000 full text reviews....

(More Info)


Book Review Digest Retrospective, 1905-1982

Full Text

Book Review Digest Retrospective provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction....

(More Info)


British Periodicals

Full Text

Digital images of 500 periodicals, published from the 1680s to the 1930s, tracing the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals....

(More Info)


China Data Online

Full Text

The China Data Center at the University of Michigan is a national center designed to advance the study and understanding of China....

(More Info)


Communication and Mass Media Complete

Full Text

Provides references to journal articles, handbooks, and encyclopedias related to communication and mass media....

(More Info)


CQ Almanac

Full Text

Coverage of the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the US Congress from 1945-2008, providing in-depth review and analysis of legislation and policy for each year, organized by policy area....

(More Info)


CQ Public Affairs Collection

Full Text

In-depth reports on public policy issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas....

(More Info)


CQ Researcher

Full Text

In-depth reports and analysis on political and social issues, each covering a single theme and providing solid background information, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U....

(More Info)


CQ Supreme Court Collection

Full Text

Historical analysis, updates and expert commentary on Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U....

(More Info)


CQ Weekly

Full Text

Legislative news and analysis from CQ Press, includes current information plus the full text of all articles published since 1983....

(More Info)


Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1630-1800

Full Text

37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides provide primary source documents on nearly every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft....

(More Info)


eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Full Text

A collection of e-books covering a wide variety of subjects-- arts, humanities, business, education, computers, science, social science, and technology....

(More Info)


EbscoHost

Full Text

All EBSCOhost databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines....

(More Info)


EconLit

Indexing for journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics....

(More Info)


Economist Historical Archive

Full Text

A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Forensic Science

Full Text

A comprehensive and up-to-date reference of the main areas of specialist and expert knowledge and skills used by those involved in all aspects of the forensic process....

(More Info)


Europa World Online

Full Text

One of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories....

(More Info)


Facts on File World News Digest

Full Text

A concise, comprehensive record of world events since 1940....

(More Info)


FirstSearch

A collection of online databases, providing coverage of much of the journal literature for academic disciplines....

(More Info)


Fold3 (Formerly Footnote)

Full Text

Historical documents collections, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U S Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents....

(More Info)


FORENSICnetBASE

Full Text

A collection of books in the fields of forensics and law enforcement....

(More Info)


GenderWatch

Full Text

Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, providing historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years....

(More Info)


Global Issues in Context

Full Text

Perspectives on issues, including global news, primary sources and media....

(More Info)


Google Scholar

Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions....

(More Info)


GPO Monthly Catalog

A record of US government documents published since 1976, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc....

(More Info)


Great Speeches Video Series

Full Text

Streaming video of speeches by public figures from all walks of life, from Babe Ruth to the Dalai Lama to Senator Robert Byrd....

(More Info)


Great Speeches Video Series

Full Text

Now included as part of Films on Demand....

(More Info)


GreenFILE

Full Text

Scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering human impact on the environment, including the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects....

(More Info)


HeinOnline

Full Text

Extensive collection of legal information, including international law resources....

(More Info)


HeritageQuest Online

Full Text

HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U S federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy and Local History collection....

(More Info)


Journal Citation Reports

Journal impact factors and citation data for 7,500 scholarly and technical journals....

(More Info)


JSTOR

Full Text

JSTOR is an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years....

(More Info)


Keesings World News Archive

Full Text

Keesing’s publishes approximately 150 new articles each month on topics ranging from Political and Military Conflict, Human Rights, Major Legal Cases and War Crimes Trials, Peacekeeping and Conflict Resolution, Budgets and Major Economic Developments just to name a few....

(More Info)


Lexis Nexis Academic

Full Text

Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 newspapers (including the New York Times), magazines, business, legal, medical, and reference publications, including US federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news....

(More Info)


MarciveWeb DOCS

Covers all types of US government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc....

(More Info)


Masterfile Premier (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Full text for nearly 1,750 general reference periodicals with information dating as far back as 1975....

(More Info)


Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications 1895-1976

Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government, describing over one million items published between January 1895 and June 1976, the Monthly Catalog helps you identify important and useful information on all subjects....

(More Info)


NCJRS

Full Text

NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide....

(More Info)


Newspaper Source (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Includes the Morgantown Dominion Post plus cover-to-cover full text for 28 national(US)and international newspapers and selected full text for more than 260 regional newspapers....

(More Info)


OECD iLibrary Statistics

Full Text New

Statistics from the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, including key tables, searchable data sets, and fact books....

(More Info)


Opinion Archives

Full Text

Scholarly opinion journals in politics, arts, and culture, including the full text of New Yorker, Alternative, Dissent, Moment, The Nation, New Leader, New Republic, Harper's, Commentary, National Review, NACLA, Commonweal, American Spectator, Orion, The Progressive, Washington Monthly, Weekly Standard, and NY Review of Books....

(More Info)


Oxford African American Studies Center (One User)

Full Text

A collection of scholarship, including 8,000 articles and primary source documents, focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture....

(More Info)


PAIS Archive

References to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements from documents related to public policy, 1915-1976....

(More Info)


PAIS International

References to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more....

(More Info)


PapersFirst

Conference papers, including all published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting papers received by The British Library Document Supply Centre....

(More Info)


Points of View Reference Center (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Term paper resources and topics - Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services....

(More Info)


Political Handbook of the World

Full Text

Information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system, including: heads of government, heads of state, ambassadors, historical trends, regime changes, constitutional history, and regional and global policy issues of concern....

(More Info)


Polling the Nations

Full Text

compilation of 14,000+ public opinion surveys conducted in the United States and 80 other countries from 1986 to the present....

(More Info)


Project Muse

Full Text

Project MUSE provides searchable, full text access to more than 100 academic journals....

(More Info)


Proquest Congressional

Full Text

Abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources....

(More Info)


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Full Text

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997....

(More Info)


Proquest Historical Newspapers

Full Text

Full digital images of the New York Times, 1851-1999, and the Wall Street Journal, 1889-1985....

(More Info)


Proquest Statistical Insight

Full Text

Access to statistical information produced by US Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations....

(More Info)


Reader's Guide Retrospective

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, the standard index to articles in magazines, covering from 1890 to 1982....

(More Info)


Sage Criminology

Full Text

Electronic journal collection covering criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, correctons, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence....

(More Info)


Sage Reference Online

Full Text

A collection of authoratative encyclopedias in the social sciences, including coverage for anthropology, criminology, environment, psychology, research methods, sociology, and women's studies....

(More Info)


Sage Research Methods

Full Text Trial New

Trial ends on Apr 29, 2014 – A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects, linking over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools....

(More Info)


Social Sciences Citation Index

Part of the Web of Science, covers high impact research journals in each field of the social sciences and offers cited reference searching as an option for tracing scholarship....

(More Info)


Statistical Abstract

Full Text New

Proquest Statistical Abstract continues the series previously published by the U....

(More Info)


Times Digital Archive

Full Text New

Digital images of the Times (London) complete from 1785 to 2006....

(More Info)


U.S. Congressional Serial Set

Full Text

Historic reports, documents and journals of the US Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes....

(More Info)


Vanderbilt Television News Archive

View online news video - or borrow custom clips for a fee which you pay with a personal credit card - Provides index for regularly scheduled newscasts from 1968 to the present from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News....

(More Info)


Web of Science

The Web of Science includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, and is made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp....

(More Info)


West Virginia Newspapers From Newsbank (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Includes the Dominion Post (Morgantown), Charleston Gazette, Charleston Daily Mail, Herald Dispatch (Huntington)....

(More Info)


West Virginia State Data Center/Business and Industry Data Center

Full Text

Thirty-one public agencies work together through a cooperative agreement with the U....

(More Info)


Women's Studies International

Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research....

(More Info)


Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy....

(More Info)



Help Accessing Databases

Databases By Title

#ABCDEFG

HIJKLMNO

PRSTUVWZ

Databases by Resource Type