wvuLogo

LIBRARIES

Ask a Librarian

General & Reference Databases

A to Z Maps Online

Royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps, including political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps....

(More Info)


Academic Search Complete

Full Text

Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications....

(More Info)


AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online

Full Text

A science and technology encyclopedia containing more than 8,000 articles written by the leading figures in their fields, including 30 Nobel Prize winners, and edited and illustrated with the non-specialist in mind....

(More Info)


AgeLine

Focusing on the population aged 50+, the source for the literature of social gerontology, including related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy....

(More Info)


Alt HealthWatch (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Alt HealthWatch focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness....

(More Info)


AMA Manual of Style Online

Full Text

The AMA Manual of Style Online (10th ed....

(More Info)


American Factfinder

Full Text

A source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U....

(More Info)


American Men and Women of Science - 24th Edition

Full Text

Profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists....

(More Info)


American National Biography Online

Full Text

Biographies of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation....

(More Info)


Ancestry Library Edition

Full Text

A wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research, including United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more....

(More Info)


APS Online - American Periodical Series Online

Full Text

APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II....

(More Info)


Archive Finder

A current directory of 5,400 archives and 124,400 collections of primary source material across the US, UK and Ireland, enabling researchers to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work and find contact information for the repositories....

(More Info)


ArchiveGrid

New

ArchiveGrid is a free database that allows searching across hundreds of institutions' special collections records, including the collections of The West Virginia and Regional History Center....

(More Info)


Biography and Genealogy Master Index

An index to printed reference sources that contain biographical information....

(More Info)


Biography Reference Bank

Full Text

Information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images....

(More Info)


Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online

Full Text

Provides access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship in the field of sociology....

(More Info)


Book Review Digest Plus, 1983-

Full Text

Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides review excerpts and over 100,000 full text reviews....

(More Info)


Book Review Digest Retrospective, 1905-1982

Full Text

Book Review Digest Retrospective provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction....

(More Info)


Books in Print (Global Books in Print)

Book, audio book, and video titles currently in print, including book reviews for many titles, a directory of publishers, author biographies, and lists of prize-winning books....

(More Info)


Bridgeman Education

With over 370,000 images from museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use, Bridgeman Education gives you access to the visual culture of every civilization and every period from Prehistory to the present day across continents and civilisations....

(More Info)


Buckmaster Annual Reports

Full Text

A collection of annual reports and 10-Ks from the top 500 corporations in America....

(More Info)


Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities

Full Text

Journal information for business (accounting, marketing, economics & finance, management),education, psychology, nursing, health administratin, computer science & business information systems....

(More Info)


Chicago Manual of Style Online

Full Text

Online version of the 15th and 16th editions of The Chicago Manual of Style....

(More Info)


Choice Reviews Online

Full Text

Reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education....

(More Info)


College Source

Full Text

A library of 27,344 college catalogs in full cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools....

(More Info)


Consumer Health Complete (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Consumer Health Complete is a portal for consumer health care information....

(More Info)


CQ Public Affairs Collection

Full Text

In-depth reports on public policy issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas....

(More Info)


CQ Researcher

Full Text

In-depth reports and analysis on political and social issues, each covering a single theme and providing solid background information, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U....

(More Info)


CQ Supreme Court Collection

Full Text

Historical analysis, updates and expert commentary on Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U....

(More Info)


CQ Weekly

Full Text

Legislative news and analysis from CQ Press, includes current information plus the full text of all articles published since 1983....

(More Info)


CREDO Reference

Full Text

A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research....

(More Info)


Datapedia of the United States

Full Text

A factbook containing data on several hundred indicators of social, economic, political, and cultural developments in United States history, from 1790 to 2003....

(More Info)


Dissertations and Theses @ WVU

Searchable database of WVU doctoral and masters theses, from 1970 to present - for earlier dates and comprehensive indexing, use the Mountainlynx catalog....

(More Info)


Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1630-1800

Full Text

37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides provide primary source documents on nearly every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft....

(More Info)


eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Full Text

A collection of e-books covering a wide variety of subjects-- arts, humanities, business, education, computers, science, social science, and technology....

(More Info)


EbscoHost

Full Text

All EBSCOhost databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia Britannica

Full Text

Complete subscription version includes atlas, dictionary, audio & video clips, images, and links to reviewed web sites....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Associations (Gale Directory Library)

Full Text

Detailed information for nonprofit membership organizations such as professional societies, labor unions, cultural groups, and trade associations....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Forensic Science

Full Text

A comprehensive and up-to-date reference of the main areas of specialist and expert knowledge and skills used by those involved in all aspects of the forensic process....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Life Sciences

Full Text

Provides access to articles covering all areas of life science, written by scientists and researchers- plus extensive tables and figures....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Social Work

Full Text

Comprehensive in coverage and international in scope, the Encyclopedia contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work....

(More Info)


EndNote Web

Use EndNote Web to create a personal database of references to articles, books and other research sources - create an account to begin....

(More Info)


Europa World Online

Full Text

One of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories....

(More Info)


Facts on File World News Digest

Full Text

A concise, comprehensive record of world events since 1940....

(More Info)


FictionConnection

Full Text

Discover titles similar to books you already enjoy and read book summaries and reviews....

(More Info)


Film & Television Literature Index With Full Text

Full Text

Indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals....

(More Info)


Fold3 (Formerly Footnote)

Full Text

Historical documents collections, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U S Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents....

(More Info)


FORENSICnetBASE

Full Text

A collection of books in the fields of forensics and law enforcement....

(More Info)


Foundation Center Databases - Available in Downtown Campus Library Only

New

Foundation Directory Online, Foundation Grants to Individuals Online, and Philanthropy In/Sight provide extensive information for grant-seekers....

(More Info)


Gale Virtual Reference Library

Full Text

A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources....

(More Info)


Global Issues in Context

Full Text

Perspectives on issues, including global news, primary sources and media....

(More Info)


Global Road Warrior

Full Text

Cultural, geographic and travel information for all countries....

(More Info)


Google Scholar

Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions....

(More Info)


GPO Monthly Catalog

A record of US government documents published since 1976, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc....

(More Info)


Grove Art Online

Full Text

Grove Art Online provides access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (Grove, 1996, 34 vols....

(More Info)


Grove Music Online

Full Text

An English-language encyclopedia of music and musicians, covering most aspects of art music, folk music, world music and jazz....

(More Info)


Guide to Reference

Full Text

A guide to the 16,000 best reference sources, selected by an editorial team of subject experts....

(More Info)


Handbook of Child Psychology 6th Edition

Full Text

The handbook spans the entire field of child psychology including topics such as spirituality, social understanding, and non-verbal communication....

(More Info)


HeritageQuest Online

Full Text

HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U S federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy and Local History collection....

(More Info)


Hoover's Pro Access for Academic Libraries

Full Text

Proprietary business information for 30 million corporations, through the Internet, data feeds, wireless devices, and co-branding agreements with other online services....

(More Info)


ICPSR -Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research

New

ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data which can be used for secondary research, instructional activities, and to write articles, papers or theses - set up MyData account to begin....

(More Info)


Journal Citation Reports

Journal impact factors and citation data for 7,500 scholarly and technical journals....

(More Info)


Keesings World News Archive

Full Text

Keesing’s publishes approximately 150 new articles each month on topics ranging from Political and Military Conflict, Human Rights, Major Legal Cases and War Crimes Trials, Peacekeeping and Conflict Resolution, Budgets and Major Economic Developments just to name a few....

(More Info)


Lexis Nexis Academic

Full Text

Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 newspapers (including the New York Times), magazines, business, legal, medical, and reference publications, including US federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news....

(More Info)


Library Literature

Materials on libraries and information science....

(More Info)


LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts

LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists....

(More Info)


Literature Resource Center

Full Text

Full-text literary criticism and reviews and author biographical information on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world....

(More Info)


MagillOnLiterature

Full Text

Plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews and critical analyses of frequently studied works of literature....

(More Info)


MarciveWeb DOCS

Covers all types of US government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc....

(More Info)


Marquis Biographies Online

Full Text

Biographies from all the major Who's Who publications, including Who Was Who, and providing comprehensive profiles on over 1,444,914 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor....

(More Info)


Masterfile Premier (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Full text for nearly 1,750 general reference periodicals with information dating as far back as 1975....

(More Info)


MedlinePlus

Full Text

Consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine....

(More Info)


Mental Measurements Yearbook With Tests in Print

Full Text

A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska....

(More Info)


MergentOnline

Full Text

Extensive company information, including profiles of 10,500 companies traded on US stock exchanges, 17,000 non-US companies, fifteen years of financial statements, corporate annual reports and comprehensive market reports on over 100 countries....

(More Info)


MLA Directory of Periodicals

The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography....

(More Info)


Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications 1895-1976

Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government, describing over one million items published between January 1895 and June 1976, the Monthly Catalog helps you identify important and useful information on all subjects....

(More Info)


Moody's Manuals From Mergent WebReports

Full Text

Moody's manuals, ranging back to the early 1900s, possess a richness of corporate history and business descriptions and in-depth financial statements....

(More Info)


MountainLynx

WVU Libraries online catalog; use it to find books, periodicals, microforms, and media materials owned by the libraries....

(More Info)


National Faculty Directory (Gale Directory Library)

Full Text

Find faculty by name, institution, or discipline, with contact information....

(More Info)


New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics

Full Text

Standard work in economics, containing essays by eminent contributors from across the spectrum of methodological and ideological schools....

(More Info)


New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers)

Full Text

Full-image articles for the New York Times dating back to the beginning of the paper in the 19th century....

(More Info)


Opinion Archives

Full Text

Scholarly opinion journals in politics, arts, and culture, including the full text of New Yorker, Alternative, Dissent, Moment, The Nation, New Leader, New Republic, Harper's, Commentary, National Review, NACLA, Commonweal, American Spectator, Orion, The Progressive, Washington Monthly, Weekly Standard, and NY Review of Books....

(More Info)


Oxford African American Studies Center (One User)

Full Text

A collection of scholarship, including 8,000 articles and primary source documents, focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture....

(More Info)


Oxford Art Online

Full Text

Oxford Art Online is the innovative new gateway for searching Grove Art Online and other art resources from Oxford....

(More Info)


Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online

Full Text

Provides 50,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000....

(More Info)


Oxford English Dictionary

Full Text

OED -a comprehensive, unabridged dictionary that records the history and development of the English Language....

(More Info)


PAIS Archive

References to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements from documents related to public policy, 1915-1976....

(More Info)


PAIS International

References to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more....

(More Info)


PapersFirst

Conference papers, including all published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting papers received by The British Library Document Supply Centre....

(More Info)


Points of View Reference Center (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Term paper resources and topics - Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services....

(More Info)


Political Handbook of the World

Full Text

Information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system, including: heads of government, heads of state, ambassadors, historical trends, regime changes, constitutional history, and regional and global policy issues of concern....

(More Info)


Polling the Nations

Full Text

compilation of 14,000+ public opinion surveys conducted in the United States and 80 other countries from 1986 to the present....

(More Info)


ProceedingsFirst

An index of conference publications....

(More Info)


Proquest Congressional

Full Text

Abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources....

(More Info)


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Full Text

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997....

(More Info)


Proquest Statistical Insight

Full Text

Access to statistical information produced by US Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations....

(More Info)


PsychiatryOnline

Full Text

Web portal that includes the DSM-IV-TR and a selection of journals, practice guidelines and textbooks....

(More Info)


RCLweb

Full Text

RCLweb (recommended books for research and teaching) is the online edition of Resources for College Libraries, listing recommended titles in 58 curriculum-specific subject areas....

(More Info)


Reader's Guide Retrospective

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, the standard index to articles in magazines, covering from 1890 to 1982....

(More Info)


Reference USA

Full Text

Find detailed information on 14 milllion US businesses, 100 million households, and nearly 1 million physicians and dentists....

(More Info)


RefWorks

Format bibliographies and notes as you write papers; RefWorks allows you to create a personal database of sources that you can access from anywhere....

(More Info)


Regional Business News (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and news wires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States....

(More Info)


Research Starters Education

Full Text

Research Starters - Education provides students with a solid foundation for their research and assignments, as well as overview information on topics relevant to their studies....

(More Info)


Safari Books Online

Full Text

Current IT, business and desk reference eBooks, including guides to application software, and programming....

(More Info)


Sage Reference Online

Full Text

A collection of authoratative encyclopedias in the social sciences, including coverage for anthropology, criminology, environment, psychology, research methods, sociology, and women's studies....

(More Info)


Serials Directory

Full Text

Directory of 150,000 periodicals with publisher information....

(More Info)


Statistical Abstract

Full Text New

Proquest Statistical Abstract continues the series previously published by the U....

(More Info)


Testing & Education Reference Center

Full Text

Test preparation, practice tests, graduate school search, career resources, resume writing, and more - this resource will help you prepare for the next step in your education or career....

(More Info)


Tests in Print (Now Included in Mental Measurements Yearbook)

Full Text

A comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language....

(More Info)


Ulrichsweb

Full Text

Provides detailed information on periodicals published throughout the world, covering all subjects and including publications that are published regularly or irregularly....

(More Info)


Value Line Investment Survey

Full Text

A comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy....

(More Info)


Vanderbilt Television News Archive

View online news video - or borrow custom clips for a fee which you pay with a personal credit card - Provides index for regularly scheduled newscasts from 1968 to the present from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News....

(More Info)


West Virginia State Data Center/Business and Industry Data Center

Full Text

Thirty-one public agencies work together through a cooperative agreement with the U....

(More Info)


WorldCat (FirstSearch)

Search 20,000+ library catalogs for books and other materials in libraries worldwide....

(More Info)


Worldcat.org

Find books located in libraries around the world and use links to WVU Library content and services for easy access....

(More Info)



Help Accessing Databases

Databases By Title

#ABCDEFG

HIJKLMNO

PRSTUVWZ

Databases by Resource Type