wvuLogo

LIBRARIES

Ask a Librarian

West Virginia Databases

Accessible Archives

Full Text

Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals, particulary useful for civil war and genealogical research....

(More Info)


America: History and Life

Covers US and Canadian history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews....

(More Info)


Ancestry Library Edition

Full Text

A wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research, including United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more....

(More Info)


ArchiveGrid

New

ArchiveGrid is a free database that allows searching across hundreds of institutions' special collections records, including the collections of The West Virginia and Regional History Center....

(More Info)


Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Articles from the most important journals in the arts and humanities, searchable by subject or cited author....

(More Info)


Fold3 (Formerly Footnote)

Full Text

Historical documents collections, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U S Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents....

(More Info)


HeritageQuest Online

Full Text

HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U S federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy and Local History collection....

(More Info)


The Civil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1843-1877

Full Text New

Primary source documents for research into the American Civl War - provides access to more than 150 newspapers, 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera....

(More Info)


Worldcat.org

Find books located in libraries around the world and use links to WVU Library content and services for easy access....

(More Info)



Help Accessing Databases

Databases By Title

#ABCDEFG

HIJKLMNO

PRSTUVWZ

Databases by Resource Type