wvuLogo

LIBRARIES

Ask a Librarian

Geography Databases

A to Z Maps Online

Royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps, including political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps....

(More Info)


Academic Search Complete

Full Text

Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications....

(More Info)


China Data Online

Full Text

The China Data Center at the University of Michigan is a national center designed to advance the study and understanding of China....

(More Info)


CQ Researcher

Full Text

In-depth reports and analysis on political and social issues, each covering a single theme and providing solid background information, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U....

(More Info)


Empire Online

Full Text

Original documents, primary source material, essays, and biographical information realted to empire studies, with an emphasis on the British Empire....

(More Info)


Europa World Online

Full Text

One of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories....

(More Info)


GeoBase

GEOBASE® is a database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation....

(More Info)


GeoScienceWorld

Full Text

GeoScienceWorld hosts 40 peer-reviewed geoscience journals from 26 global publishers, which are fully integrated with the American Geological Institute’s GeoRef, an abstracting and indexing database in the field of earth sciences....

(More Info)


Global Issues in Context

Full Text

Perspectives on issues, including global news, primary sources and media....

(More Info)


Global Road Warrior

Full Text

Cultural, geographic and travel information for all countries....

(More Info)


Journal Citation Reports

Journal impact factors and citation data for 7,500 scholarly and technical journals....

(More Info)


JSTOR

Full Text

JSTOR is an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years....

(More Info)


Lexis Nexis Academic

Full Text

Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 newspapers (including the New York Times), magazines, business, legal, medical, and reference publications, including US federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news....

(More Info)


Masterfile Premier (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Full text for nearly 1,750 general reference periodicals with information dating as far back as 1975....

(More Info)


National Geographic Virtual Library

Full Text New

This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos....

(More Info)


PAIS International

References to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more....

(More Info)


Polling the Nations

Full Text

compilation of 14,000+ public opinion surveys conducted in the United States and 80 other countries from 1986 to the present....

(More Info)


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Full Text

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997....

(More Info)


Sage Research Methods

Full Text Trial New

Trial ends on Apr 29, 2014 – A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects, linking over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools....

(More Info)


Social Sciences Citation Index

Part of the Web of Science, covers high impact research journals in each field of the social sciences and offers cited reference searching as an option for tracing scholarship....

(More Info)


Women's Studies International

Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research....

(More Info)


Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy....

(More Info)



Help Accessing Databases

Databases By Title

#ABCDEFG

HIJKLMNO

PRSTUVWZ

Databases by Resource Type