wvuLogo

LIBRARIES

Ask a Librarian

Journalism Databases

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

Full Text New

The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media....

(More Info)


Academic Search Complete

Full Text

Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications....

(More Info)


Advertising Red Books

Full Text

Extensive directory information about advertising agencies and the companies that advertise with them, including budgets, brands, and personnel information....

(More Info)


APS Online - American Periodical Series Online

Full Text

APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II....

(More Info)


Bridgeman Education

With over 370,000 images from museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use, Bridgeman Education gives you access to the visual culture of every civilization and every period from Prehistory to the present day across continents and civilisations....

(More Info)


British Periodicals

Full Text

Digital images of 500 periodicals, published from the 1680s to the 1930s, tracing the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals....

(More Info)


CIOS (Communication Institute for Online Scholarship)

Research databases from CIOS support research and education in communications-related disciplines (human communication studies, speech communication, rhetoric, journalism, mass communication, etc....

(More Info)


ComAbstracts

A comprehensive database of article and book abstracts from the scholarly literature of the communication field....

(More Info)


ComAnalytics

A system for the comparative assessment of article publication productivity for individual scholars and for academic departments....

(More Info)


Communication and Mass Media Complete

Full Text

Provides references to journal articles, handbooks, and encyclopedias related to communication and mass media....

(More Info)


ComUpdate

Quickly and efficiently scan and review new communication studies research articles in your area of interest....

(More Info)


ComVista

An interactive directory of scholars and degree programs in communication and the best guide to leading graduate programs....

(More Info)


CQ Researcher

Full Text

In-depth reports and analysis on political and social issues, each covering a single theme and providing solid background information, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U....

(More Info)


EbscoHost

Full Text

All EBSCOhost databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines....

(More Info)


Economist Historical Archive

Full Text

A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003....

(More Info)


Facts on File World News Digest

Full Text

A concise, comprehensive record of world events since 1940....

(More Info)


FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus

Full Text

Offers coverage of academic and popular film journals....

(More Info)


Film & Television Literature Index With Full Text

Full Text

Indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals....

(More Info)


Global Issues in Context

Full Text

Perspectives on issues, including global news, primary sources and media....

(More Info)


HarpWeek (Harper's Weekly)

Full Text

Harper's Weekly is an important primary resource for examining 19th-century America, providing a comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century....

(More Info)


International Encyclopedia of Communication

Full Text

Spans the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas....

(More Info)


Journal Citation Reports

Journal impact factors and citation data for 7,500 scholarly and technical journals....

(More Info)


Lexis Nexis Academic

Full Text

Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 newspapers (including the New York Times), magazines, business, legal, medical, and reference publications, including US federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news....

(More Info)


New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers)

Full Text

Full-image articles for the New York Times dating back to the beginning of the paper in the 19th century....

(More Info)


Newspaper Source (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Includes the Morgantown Dominion Post plus cover-to-cover full text for 28 national(US)and international newspapers and selected full text for more than 260 regional newspapers....

(More Info)


Opinion Archives

Full Text

Scholarly opinion journals in politics, arts, and culture, including the full text of New Yorker, Alternative, Dissent, Moment, The Nation, New Leader, New Republic, Harper's, Commentary, National Review, NACLA, Commonweal, American Spectator, Orion, The Progressive, Washington Monthly, Weekly Standard, and NY Review of Books....

(More Info)


Points of View Reference Center (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Term paper resources and topics - Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services....

(More Info)


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Full Text

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997....

(More Info)


Proquest Historical Newspapers

Full Text

Full digital images of the New York Times, 1851-1999, and the Wall Street Journal, 1889-1985....

(More Info)


Regional Business News (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and news wires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States....

(More Info)


Times Digital Archive

Full Text New

Digital images of the Times (London) complete from 1785 to 2006....

(More Info)


Vanderbilt Television News Archive

View online news video - or borrow custom clips for a fee which you pay with a personal credit card - Provides index for regularly scheduled newscasts from 1968 to the present from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News....

(More Info)


West Virginia Newspapers From Newsbank (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Includes the Dominion Post (Morgantown), Charleston Gazette, Charleston Daily Mail, Herald Dispatch (Huntington)....

(More Info)



Help Accessing Databases

Databases By Title

#ABCDEFG

HIJKLMNO

PRSTUVWZ

Databases by Resource Type