wvuLogo

LIBRARIES

Ask a Librarian

Medicine Databases

Academic Search Complete

Full Text

Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications....

(More Info)


AccessPharmacy

Full Text

AccessPharmacy is a comprehensive online resource for pharmacy education....

(More Info)


ADA Nutrition Care Manual

Full Text

The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) is a publication of the American Dietetic Association....

(More Info)


ADA Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual

Full Text

The ADA Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual is a publication of the American Dietetic Association....

(More Info)


AgeLine

Focusing on the population aged 50+, the source for the literature of social gerontology, including related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy....

(More Info)


AMA Manual of Style Online

Full Text

The AMA Manual of Style Online (10th ed....

(More Info)


American Men and Women of Science - 24th Edition

Full Text

Profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists....

(More Info)


Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities

Full Text

Journal information for business (accounting, marketing, economics & finance, management),education, psychology, nursing, health administratin, computer science & business information systems....

(More Info)


Clinical Pharmacology (Restricted Access to HSC Only. Off Campus Only Through SOLE.)

Full Text

Clinical Pharmacology is an electronic drug information and medication management resource....

(More Info)


Cochrane Library

Full Text

The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Reviews of Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials....

(More Info)


Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science

Conference Proceedings Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science, helps researchers access the published literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide....

(More Info)


Consumer Health Complete (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Consumer Health Complete is a portal for consumer health care information....

(More Info)


EbscoHost

Full Text

All EBSCOhost databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines....

(More Info)


eHRAF World Cultures

Full Text

The eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural database containing descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups from around the world-- unique because each culture contains a variety of full-text source documents (books, articles, and dissertations) that have been indexed and organized according to HRAF's comprehensive culture and subject classification systems: the Outline of World Cultures (OWC), and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM)....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine

Full Text

Covers medical and legal issues, as well as scientific and technical areas, including specialist roles such as anthropology, toxicology, odontology and psychiatry....

(More Info)


Evidence Database on Aging Care

Evidence Database on Aging Care (EDAC), formerly known as ACRO, is created by the Social Work Leadership Institute to help scholars, policy analysts, and advocates stay on top of the latest research and innovations in aging care, including health care, social services, and workforce issues....

(More Info)


ExamMaster

Full Text

Exam Master is an online test prep resource for the Health Sciences....

(More Info)


Faculty of 1000

Full Text

Faculty of 1000 is an online literature awareness service comprising thousands of selections and evaluations of the most important papers within all areas of biological and medical research....

(More Info)


First Aid Collection

Full Text

The original peer-to-peer study guides, First Aid titles provide medical students, residents, and physicians with an outline for success on both the boards and wards....

(More Info)


FREIDA (Fellowship & Residency Electronic Interactive Database)

FREIDA Online is a database with over 8,600 graduate medical education programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, as well as over 200 combined specialty programs....

(More Info)


HAPI (Health & Psychosocial Instruments)

Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides access to information on measurement instruments (i....

(More Info)


Harrison's Online

Full Text

Harrison's Online features the complete contents of the latest edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine....

(More Info)


Health Source: Consumer Edition

Full Text

This database provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health periodicals covering topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health....

(More Info)


IndexCat

This is the online version of the print Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office, U....

(More Info)


International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA)

Provides indexing and abstracts for over 750 pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals that cover the entire spectrum of drug therapy and pharmaceutical information....

(More Info)


Journal Citation Reports

Journal impact factors and citation data for 7,500 scholarly and technical journals....

(More Info)


MDConsult

Full Text

MD Consult Core Collection helps physicians answer clinical questions and stay abreast of recent developments by providing electronic access to 50 respected medical reference books, over 80 medical journals and clinics, MEDLINE, comprehensive drug information, more than 1000 clinical practice guidelines, over 10,000 customizable patient education handouts that patients can take home after an office visit or hospital stay, and online CME....

(More Info)


MEDLINE (EbscoHost)

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more....

(More Info)


MEDLINE (OVID)

MEDLINE through OVID is a version of the premier, comprehensive biomedical database designed for advanced users....

(More Info)


MEDLINE (PubMed)

MEDLINE is a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences....

(More Info)


National Guideline Clearinghouse

Full Text New

The NGC mission is to provide physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines....

(More Info)


Natural Standard

Full Text

Natural Standard was founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies....

(More Info)


OECD iLibrary Statistics

Full Text New

Statistics from the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, including key tables, searchable data sets, and fact books....

(More Info)


OT Seeker

New

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of over 10,000 systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions....

(More Info)


OVID Resources

Full Text

This portal provides access to the WVU journal subscriptions through OVID, a search portal for tables of contents and abstracts of ALL OVID journals, MEDLINE through OVID, the OVID Nursing Database, and Zoological Record....

(More Info)


PILOTS

The PILOTS database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events....

(More Info)


POPLINE (POPulation Information onLINE)

POPLINE is the world's largest bibliographic reproductive health database....

(More Info)


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Full Text

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997....

(More Info)


PsycArticles

Full Text

Full text articles covering general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research....

(More Info)


PsychiatryOnline

Full Text

Web portal that includes the DSM-IV-TR and a selection of journals, practice guidelines and textbooks....

(More Info)


PsycINFO

Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology....

(More Info)


PsycTESTS

Full Text

PsycTESTS provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and citation information for each instrument....

(More Info)


PsycTHERAPY

Full Text

PsycTHERAPY is a database of ~ 300 streaming psychotherapy demonstrations featuring some of the most renowned therapists in North America working with participants on a host of therapeutic topics....

(More Info)


PubMed

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences....

(More Info)


RefWorks

Format bibliographies and notes as you write papers; RefWorks allows you to create a personal database of sources that you can access from anywhere....

(More Info)


ScienceDirect

Full Text

ScienceDirect is an electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full-text, peer-reviewed articles....

(More Info)


Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources....

(More Info)


Tests in Print (Now Included in Mental Measurements Yearbook)

Full Text

A comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language....

(More Info)


TOXNET

TOXNET is a free search service from the National Library of Medicine that includes a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas....

(More Info)


UpToDate (Restricted to HSC Campus Only. No Remote Access)

Full Text

UpToDate is a point-of-care tool that synthesizes knowledge for clinicians and patients....

(More Info)


Web of Science

The Web of Science includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, and is made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp....

(More Info)



Help Accessing Databases

Databases By Title

#ABCDEFG

HIJKLMNO

PRSTUVWZ

Databases by Resource Type