wvuLogo

LIBRARIES

Ask a Librarian

Literature & Languages Databases

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

Full Text New

The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media....

(More Info)


19th Century Masterfile

An index to nineteenth century periodicals, newspapers and government documents, including British Parliamentary debates....

(More Info)


Academic Search Complete

Full Text

Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications....

(More Info)


ACLS Humanities E Book

Full Text

A digital collection of nearly 2,800 full-text high-quality books in the humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars....

(More Info)


APS Online - American Periodical Series Online

Full Text

APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II....

(More Info)


Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Articles from the most important journals in the arts and humanities, searchable by subject or cited author....

(More Info)


Book Review Digest Plus, 1983-

Full Text

Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides review excerpts and over 100,000 full text reviews....

(More Info)


Book Review Digest Retrospective, 1905-1982

Full Text

Book Review Digest Retrospective provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction....

(More Info)


British Periodicals

Full Text

Digital images of 500 periodicals, published from the 1680s to the 1930s, tracing the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals....

(More Info)


Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1630-1800

Full Text

37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides provide primary source documents on nearly every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft....

(More Info)


Early English Books Online

Full Text

Full image reproductions of early English texts, from Pollard & Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue (STC I) and Wing’s Short-title Catalogue (STCII)....

(More Info)


EbscoHost

Full Text

All EBSCOhost databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines....

(More Info)


Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Full Text

138,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, digitized and fully searchable....

(More Info)


FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus

Full Text

Offers coverage of academic and popular film journals....

(More Info)


FictionConnection

Full Text

Discover titles similar to books you already enjoy and read book summaries and reviews....

(More Info)


Film & Television Literature Index With Full Text

Full Text

Indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals....

(More Info)


International Medieval Bibliography

Topics related to the Middle Ages - primarily focused on Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa - includes journal articles, conference proceedings, and book chapters....

(More Info)


Iter

Scholarship related to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), including citations for books and journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies)....

(More Info)


Journal Citation Reports

Journal impact factors and citation data for 7,500 scholarly and technical journals....

(More Info)


JSTOR

Full Text

JSTOR is an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years....

(More Info)


Literature Resource Center

Full Text

Full-text literary criticism and reviews and author biographical information on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world....

(More Info)


MagillOnLiterature

Full Text

Plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews and critical analyses of frequently studied works of literature....

(More Info)


Mango

Mango is a language learning program, teaching practical conversation and cultural awareness for the world’s most popular languages....

(More Info)


MLA Directory of Periodicals

The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography....

(More Info)


MLA International Bibliography

Literature, language, linguistics, folklore references from the Modern Language Association....

(More Info)


Opinion Archives

Full Text

Scholarly opinion journals in politics, arts, and culture, including the full text of New Yorker, Alternative, Dissent, Moment, The Nation, New Leader, New Republic, Harper's, Commentary, National Review, NACLA, Commonweal, American Spectator, Orion, The Progressive, Washington Monthly, Weekly Standard, and NY Review of Books....

(More Info)


Oxford African American Studies Center (One User)

Full Text

A collection of scholarship, including 8,000 articles and primary source documents, focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture....

(More Info)


Oxford English Dictionary

Full Text

OED -a comprehensive, unabridged dictionary that records the history and development of the English Language....

(More Info)


Points of View Reference Center (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Term paper resources and topics - Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services....

(More Info)


Project Muse

Full Text

Project MUSE provides searchable, full text access to more than 100 academic journals....

(More Info)


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Full Text

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997....

(More Info)


Reader's Guide Retrospective

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, the standard index to articles in magazines, covering from 1890 to 1982....

(More Info)


Theatre in Video

Full Text

Theatre in Video contains more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all....

(More Info)


Times Digital Archive

Full Text New

Digital images of the Times (London) complete from 1785 to 2006....

(More Info)



Help Accessing Databases

Databases By Title

#ABCDEFG

HIJKLMNO

PRSTUVWZ

Databases by Resource Type