wvuLogo

LIBRARIES

Ask a Librarian

Communication Studies Databases

Academic Search Complete

Full Text

Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications....

(More Info)


CIOS (Communication Institute for Online Scholarship)

Research databases from CIOS support research and education in communications-related disciplines (human communication studies, speech communication, rhetoric, journalism, mass communication, etc....

(More Info)


ComAbstracts

A comprehensive database of article and book abstracts from the scholarly literature of the communication field....

(More Info)


ComAnalytics

A system for the comparative assessment of article publication productivity for individual scholars and for academic departments....

(More Info)


Communication and Mass Media Complete

Full Text

Provides references to journal articles, handbooks, and encyclopedias related to communication and mass media....

(More Info)


ComUpdate

Quickly and efficiently scan and review new communication studies research articles in your area of interest....

(More Info)


ComVista

An interactive directory of scholars and degree programs in communication and the best guide to leading graduate programs....

(More Info)


EbscoHost

Full Text

All EBSCOhost databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines....

(More Info)


FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus

Full Text

Offers coverage of academic and popular film journals....

(More Info)


Film & Television Literature Index With Full Text

Full Text

Indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals....

(More Info)


Great Speeches Video Series

Full Text

Streaming video of speeches by public figures from all walks of life, from Babe Ruth to the Dalai Lama to Senator Robert Byrd....

(More Info)


Great Speeches Video Series

Full Text

Now included as part of Films on Demand....

(More Info)


HAPI (Health & Psychosocial Instruments)

Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides access to information on measurement instruments (i....

(More Info)


ICPSR -Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research

New

ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data which can be used for secondary research, instructional activities, and to write articles, papers or theses - set up MyData account to begin....

(More Info)


International Encyclopedia of Communication

Full Text

Spans the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas....

(More Info)


Journal Citation Reports

Journal impact factors and citation data for 7,500 scholarly and technical journals....

(More Info)


JSTOR

Full Text

JSTOR is an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years....

(More Info)


Mental Measurements Yearbook With Tests in Print

Full Text

A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska....

(More Info)


ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Full Text

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997....

(More Info)


PsycINFO

Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology....

(More Info)


Sage Research Methods

Full Text Trial New

Trial ends on Apr 29, 2014 – A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects, linking over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools....

(More Info)


Social Sciences Citation Index

Part of the Web of Science, covers high impact research journals in each field of the social sciences and offers cited reference searching as an option for tracing scholarship....

(More Info)



Help Accessing Databases

Databases By Title

#ABCDEFG

HIJKLMNO

PRSTUVWZ

Databases by Resource Type