wvuLogo

LIBRARIES

Ask a Librarian

Article Databases

19th Century Masterfile

An index to nineteenth century periodicals, newspapers and government documents, including British Parliamentary debates....

(More Info)


ABI/Inform Complete

Full Text New

Includes thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data, with international coverage that gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world....

(More Info)


Abstracts in Anthropology

Abstracts for articles in several hundred anthropology periodicals, covering a broad spectrum of significant current topics....

(More Info)


Academic Search Alumni Edition

Full Text

Articles from thousands of magazines, newspapes and journals are available to members of the WVU Alumni Association....

(More Info)


Academic Search Complete

Full Text

Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications....

(More Info)


Accessible Archives

Full Text

Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals, particulary useful for civil war and genealogical research....

(More Info)


ACM Digital Library

Full Text

The ACM DL is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM (Association for Computing Machinery)journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings....

(More Info)


AgEcon Search

Full Text

AgEcon Search collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development....

(More Info)


AgeLine

Focusing on the population aged 50+, the source for the literature of social gerontology, including related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy....

(More Info)


Agricola

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators....

(More Info)


Agricola (Ebscohost)

The AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) database contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences....

(More Info)


Agris

AGRIS is an international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology....

(More Info)


America: History and Life

Covers US and Canadian history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews....

(More Info)


Anthrosource

Full Text

A collection of journals from the American Anthropological Association....

(More Info)


APS Online - American Periodical Series Online

Full Text

APS Online contains full digital images of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II....

(More Info)


Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts offers more than 800,000 citations and abstracts from the world's published research in aquatic sciences....

(More Info)


ArticleFirst

An index of articles from the contents pages of 15,000 journals covering humanities, business, popular culture, science, social science, technology and medicine....

(More Info)


Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Articles from the most important journals in the arts and humanities, searchable by subject or cited author....

(More Info)


ATLA Religion Database With ATLASerials

Full Text

Journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals....

(More Info)


Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration....

(More Info)


BASarchive.Org

Full Text

A collection of 3 periodicals and 5 books related to Biblical archaeology....

(More Info)


Biological Abstracts - See Biosis Previews

Biosis Previews contains Biological Abstracts and more, searchable back to 1926 and cross-searchable with Web of Science....

(More Info)


BioOne

Full Text

BioOne is an aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals....

(More Info)


BioOne Abstracts and Index

A sophisticated search engine for articles in BioOne, an aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals....

(More Info)


BIOSIS Previews

Index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more....

(More Info)


BuildingGreen Suite

Full Text

The BuildingGreen Suite of online tools provides information on green design....

(More Info)


Business Source Alumni Edition

Full Text

Articles from business and trade magazines, available to members of the WVU Alumni Association....

(More Info)


Business Source Premier

Full Text

Business research database, providing full text for 8,800 periodicals, including 1,100 peer-reviewed publications, plus company profiles....

(More Info)


CAB Abstracts

CAB Abstracts is a database covering international issues in agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines in the life sciences....

(More Info)


Civil Engineering Database

The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide bibliographic access to all ASCE publications....

(More Info)


Cochrane Library

Full Text

The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Reviews of Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials....

(More Info)


Communication and Mass Media Complete

Full Text

Provides references to journal articles, handbooks, and encyclopedias related to communication and mass media....

(More Info)


Compendex

Compendex is a bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research that covers all engineering disciplines....

(More Info)


Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science and Humanities

Conference Proceedings Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science, helps researchers access the published literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide....

(More Info)


Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science

Conference Proceedings Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science, helps researchers access the published literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide....

(More Info)


Consumer Health Complete (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Consumer Health Complete is a portal for consumer health care information....

(More Info)


Contemporary Women's Issues

Full Text

Journal articles, reports, and government documents related to global women's issues....

(More Info)


EbscoHost

Full Text

All EBSCOhost databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines....

(More Info)


EconLit

Indexing for journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics....

(More Info)


Economist Historical Archive

Full Text

A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003....

(More Info)


Education Research Complete

Full Text

Education Research Complete is an online resource for education research....

(More Info)


Educational Administration Abstracts

Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline....

(More Info)


eHRAF Archaeology

Full Text

eHRAF Archaeology is an online cross-cultural database containing descriptive information on archaeological traditions of the world and is is unique because each archaeological tradition contains a variety of full-text source documents (books, articles, and dissertations) that have been indexed and organized according to HRAF's comprehensive tradition and subject classification systems: the Outline of Archaeological Traditions (OAT), and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM)....

(More Info)


eHRAF World Cultures

Full Text

The eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural database containing descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups from around the world-- unique because each culture contains a variety of full-text source documents (books, articles, and dissertations) that have been indexed and organized according to HRAF's comprehensive culture and subject classification systems: the Outline of World Cultures (OWC), and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM)....

(More Info)


Engineering Village--EiCompendex, Inspec, and GeoBase

Engineering Village provides an easy to use, integrated interface for finding the engineering information you need....

(More Info)


Entomology Abstracts

Entomology Abstracts provides bibliographic information and abstracts for recent research reports of direct relevance to entomology, with coverage including insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans, and terrestrial isopods....

(More Info)


ERIC (EbscoHost)

ERIC is sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature....

(More Info)


Evidence Database on Aging Care

Evidence Database on Aging Care (EDAC), formerly known as ACRO, is created by the Social Work Leadership Institute to help scholars, policy analysts, and advocates stay on top of the latest research and innovations in aging care, including health care, social services, and workforce issues....

(More Info)


Factiva

Full Text New

Factiva is a premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more....

(More Info)


Faculty of 1000

Full Text

Faculty of 1000 is an online literature awareness service comprising thousands of selections and evaluations of the most important papers within all areas of biological and medical research....

(More Info)


FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus

Full Text

Offers coverage of academic and popular film journals....

(More Info)


Film & Television Literature Index With Full Text

Full Text

Indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals....

(More Info)


FirstSearch

A collection of online databases, providing coverage of much of the journal literature for academic disciplines....

(More Info)


GenderWatch

Full Text

Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, providing historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years....

(More Info)


GeoBase

GEOBASE® is a database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation....

(More Info)


GeoRef

Subject access to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses, covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present....

(More Info)


GeoScienceWorld

Full Text

GeoScienceWorld hosts 40 peer-reviewed geoscience journals from 26 global publishers, which are fully integrated with the American Geological Institute’s GeoRef, an abstracting and indexing database in the field of earth sciences....

(More Info)


Google Scholar

Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions....

(More Info)


GreenFILE

Full Text

Scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering human impact on the environment, including the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects....

(More Info)


HAPI (Health & Psychosocial Instruments)

Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides access to information on measurement instruments (i....

(More Info)


Health Source: Consumer Edition

Full Text

This database provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health periodicals covering topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health....

(More Info)


Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines....

(More Info)


HeinOnline

Full Text

Extensive collection of legal information, including international law resources....

(More Info)


Historical Abstracts

Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering world history....

(More Info)


Human Resources Abstracts

Covers essential areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline....

(More Info)


IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)

Full Text

The IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) provides a single source to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature, granting unparalleled access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers(IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers(IEE)....

(More Info)


InformeDesign

Full Text

InformeDesign is for architects, graphic designers, housing specialists, interior designers, landscape architects, urban designers and planners, and the public....

(More Info)


INSPEC

INSPEC is a bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than seven million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings....

(More Info)


International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA)

Provides indexing and abstracts for over 750 pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals that cover the entire spectrum of drug therapy and pharmaceutical information....

(More Info)


JBI COnNECT

Full Text

JBI COnNECT is an online gateway to a collection of evidence-based resources and tools designed to assist in the clinical decision-making process and to support best practice....

(More Info)


JSTOR

Full Text

JSTOR is an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years....

(More Info)


JSTOR Global Plants

Full Text

JSTOR Global Plants provides access to content such as plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials....

(More Info)


Lexis Nexis Academic

Full Text

Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 newspapers (including the New York Times), magazines, business, legal, medical, and reference publications, including US federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news....

(More Info)


Library Literature

Materials on libraries and information science....

(More Info)


Masterfile Premier (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Full text for nearly 1,750 general reference periodicals with information dating as far back as 1975....

(More Info)


MEDLINE (EbscoHost)

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more....

(More Info)


MEDLINE (OVID)

MEDLINE through OVID is a version of the premier, comprehensive biomedical database designed for advanced users....

(More Info)


MEDLINE (PubMed)

MEDLINE is a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences....

(More Info)


MLA International Bibliography

Literature, language, linguistics, folklore references from the Modern Language Association....

(More Info)


Music Index Online

Covering all styles and genres of music, the Music Index cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry....

(More Info)


National Geographic Virtual Library

Full Text New

This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos....

(More Info)


Oceanic Abstracts

Oceanic Abstracts is focused on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment....

(More Info)


OneMine

OneMine is a collaborative effort among multiple societies to place a comprehensive collection of mining and minerals based research in one place....

(More Info)


OnePetro

Full Text

OnePetro currently contains more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently....

(More Info)


Opinion Archives

Full Text

Scholarly opinion journals in politics, arts, and culture, including the full text of New Yorker, Alternative, Dissent, Moment, The Nation, New Leader, New Republic, Harper's, Commentary, National Review, NACLA, Commonweal, American Spectator, Orion, The Progressive, Washington Monthly, Weekly Standard, and NY Review of Books....

(More Info)


OT Search

OT Search is a bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas, such as rehabilitation, education, psychiatry or psychology, and health care delivery or administration....

(More Info)


OT Seeker

New

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of over 10,000 systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions....

(More Info)


OVID Resources

Full Text

This portal provides access to the WVU journal subscriptions through OVID, a search portal for tables of contents and abstracts of ALL OVID journals, MEDLINE through OVID, the OVID Nursing Database, and Zoological Record....

(More Info)


Oxford Handbooks Online: History

Full Text New

Articles from 21 Oxford Handbooks review the key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts, and set the agenda for new research in history, on topics such as cities, food, fasicm, witchcraft, Europe, and more....

(More Info)


Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Full Text New

Current scholarship to foster a more accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world, featuring reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture....

(More Info)


PAIS International

References to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more....

(More Info)


Philosopher's Index

Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields....

(More Info)


Physical Education Index

Physical Education Index provides scholarly and trade literature from 1970 to the present for physical education....

(More Info)


PILOTS

The PILOTS database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events....

(More Info)


POPLINE (POPulation Information onLINE)

POPLINE is the world's largest bibliographic reproductive health database....

(More Info)


Project Muse

Full Text

Project MUSE provides searchable, full text access to more than 100 academic journals....

(More Info)


Proquest Databases

Full Text

All Proquest databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines....

(More Info)


PsycArticles

Full Text

Full text articles covering general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research....

(More Info)


PsycINFO

Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology....

(More Info)


PubMed

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences....

(More Info)


Research Starters Education

Full Text

Research Starters - Education provides students with a solid foundation for their research and assignments, as well as overview information on topics relevant to their studies....

(More Info)


RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes....

(More Info)


SAE Digital Library

Full Text

This portion of the SAE Digital Library references thousands of SAE Technical Papers and/or SAE Standards covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology....

(More Info)


SafetyLit

SafetyLit is a free service of the Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice at San Diego State University, in collaboration with the World Health Organization....

(More Info)


Sage Criminology

Full Text

Electronic journal collection covering criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, correctons, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence....

(More Info)


Sage Research Methods

Full Text Trial New

Trial ends on Apr 29, 2014 – A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects, linking over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools....

(More Info)


Science Citation Index Expanded

Science Citation Index Expanded, a part of the Web of Science is made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp....

(More Info)


ScienceDirect

Full Text

ScienceDirect is an electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full-text, peer-reviewed articles....

(More Info)


SciFinder Scholar

The most comprehensive source for citations to the literature of chemistry and related disciplines....

(More Info)


Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources....

(More Info)


Social Sciences Citation Index

Part of the Web of Science, covers high impact research journals in each field of the social sciences and offers cited reference searching as an option for tracing scholarship....

(More Info)


Social Services Abstracts

Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development....

(More Info)


Social Work Abstracts

Coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965....

(More Info)


Sociological Abstracts

Research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences....

(More Info)


SPE eLibrary (OnePetro)

Full Text

OnePetro currently contains more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently....

(More Info)


SPIE Digital Library

Full Text

The SPIE Digital Library contains a large collection of optics and photonics research and provides user-friendly tools for researchers to optimize their valuable time....

(More Info)


Sport Discus Full Text

Full Text

SPORTDiscus offers bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines....

(More Info)


Sports Business Research Network

Full Text

Focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry....

(More Info)


SpringerMaterials

Full Text

SpringerMaterials – The Landolt-Börnstein Database is a systematic database of selected and critically assessed data in the physical sciences....

(More Info)


TRID - Transportation Research Information Services

TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database....

(More Info)


Vogue Archive

Full Text

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images....

(More Info)


Web of Science

The Web of Science includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, and is made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp....

(More Info)


West Virginia Newspapers From Newsbank (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Includes the Dominion Post (Morgantown), Charleston Gazette, Charleston Daily Mail, Herald Dispatch (Huntington)....

(More Info)


Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is an index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians....

(More Info)


Women's Studies International

Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research....

(More Info)


Worldcat.org

Find books located in libraries around the world and use links to WVU Library content and services for easy access....

(More Info)


Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy....

(More Info)


Zoological Record

Zoological Record provides coverage of worldwide zoological literature....

(More Info)



Help Accessing Databases

Databases By Title

#ABCDEFG

HIJKLMNO

PRSTUVWZ

Databases by Resource Type