wvuLogo

LIBRARIES

Ask a Librarian

Encyclopedia Databases

AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online

Full Text

A science and technology encyclopedia containing more than 8,000 articles written by the leading figures in their fields, including 30 Nobel Prize winners, and edited and illustrated with the non-specialist in mind....

(More Info)


American Men and Women of Science - 24th Edition

Full Text

Profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists....

(More Info)


Berg Fashion Library

Full Text

The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more....

(More Info)


Biopolymers Online

Full Text

Biopolymers Online provides a comprehensive overview of the occurrence, metabolism, and applications of all important biopolymer classes....

(More Info)


Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online

Full Text

Provides access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship in the field of sociology....

(More Info)


CQ Almanac

Full Text

Coverage of the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the US Congress from 1945-2008, providing in-depth review and analysis of legislation and policy for each year, organized by policy area....

(More Info)


CREDO Reference

Full Text

A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia Britannica

Full Text

Complete subscription version includes atlas, dictionary, audio & video clips, images, and links to reviewed web sites....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Animal Science

Full Text

Encyclopedia of Animal Science encompasses animal physiology, animal growth and development, animal behavior, animal reproduction and breeding, alternative approaches to animal maintenance, meat science and muscle biology, farmed animal welfare and bioethics, and food safety....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion

Full Text

This broad-based set surveys clothing, body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine

Full Text

Covers medical and legal issues, as well as scientific and technical areas, including specialist roles such as anthropology, toxicology, odontology and psychiatry....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Forensic Science

Full Text

A comprehensive and up-to-date reference of the main areas of specialist and expert knowledge and skills used by those involved in all aspects of the forensic process....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Life Sciences

Full Text

Provides access to articles covering all areas of life science, written by scientists and researchers- plus extensive tables and figures....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Popular Music

Full Text

Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Social Work

Full Text

Comprehensive in coverage and international in scope, the Encyclopedia contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work....

(More Info)


Europa World Online

Full Text

One of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories....

(More Info)


Gale Virtual Reference Library

Full Text

A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources....

(More Info)


Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

Full Text

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is an online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples....

(More Info)


Grove Music Online

Full Text

An English-language encyclopedia of music and musicians, covering most aspects of art music, folk music, world music and jazz....

(More Info)


HeinOnline

Full Text

Extensive collection of legal information, including international law resources....

(More Info)


International Encyclopedia of Communication

Full Text

Spans the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas....

(More Info)


International Encyclopedia of Dance

Full Text

The International Encyclopedia of Dance provides access to nearly 2,000 articles on all aspects of dance, including theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance....

(More Info)


Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

Full Text

Kirk-Othmer Online is the electronic version of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology....

(More Info)


Literature Resource Center

Full Text

Full-text literary criticism and reviews and author biographical information on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world....

(More Info)


New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics

Full Text

Standard work in economics, containing essays by eminent contributors from across the spectrum of methodological and ideological schools....

(More Info)


Oxford African American Studies Center (One User)

Full Text

A collection of scholarship, including 8,000 articles and primary source documents, focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture....

(More Info)


Oxford Art Online

Full Text

Oxford Art Online is the innovative new gateway for searching Grove Art Online and other art resources from Oxford....

(More Info)


Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Full Text New

Current scholarship to foster a more accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world, featuring reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture....

(More Info)


Sage Reference Online

Full Text

A collection of authoratative encyclopedias in the social sciences, including coverage for anthropology, criminology, environment, psychology, research methods, sociology, and women's studies....

(More Info)


Sage Research Methods

Full Text Trial New

Trial ends on Apr 29, 2014 – A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects, linking over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools....

(More Info)


Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering

Full Text

The Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering contains a large biomedical engineering (BME) knowledge base....

(More Info)



Help Accessing Databases

Databases By Title

#ABCDEFG

HIJKLMNO

PRSTUVWZ

Databases by Resource Type