wvuLogo

LIBRARIES

Ask a Librarian

Biography Databases

American Men and Women of Science - 24th Edition

Full Text

Profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists....

(More Info)


American National Biography Online

Full Text

Biographies of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation....

(More Info)


Biography and Genealogy Master Index

An index to printed reference sources that contain biographical information....

(More Info)


Biography Reference Bank

Full Text

Information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images....

(More Info)


CREDO Reference

Full Text

A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research....

(More Info)


Dictionary of Scientific Biography (Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography)

Full Text

Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists....

(More Info)


Gale Virtual Reference Library

Full Text

A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources....

(More Info)


Literature Resource Center

Full Text

Full-text literary criticism and reviews and author biographical information on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world....

(More Info)


MagillOnLiterature

Full Text

Plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews and critical analyses of frequently studied works of literature....

(More Info)


Marquis Biographies Online

Full Text

Biographies from all the major Who's Who publications, including Who Was Who, and providing comprehensive profiles on over 1,444,914 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor....

(More Info)


Oxford African American Studies Center (One User)

Full Text

A collection of scholarship, including 8,000 articles and primary source documents, focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture....

(More Info)


Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online

Full Text

Provides 50,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000....

(More Info)



Help Accessing Databases

Databases By Title

#ABCDEFG

HIJKLMNO

PRSTUVWZ

Databases by Resource Type