This site will work and look better in a modern Web browser that supports Web Standards such as XHTML and CSS. Please visit the WVU Libraries Web Browser Upgrade page for more information on upgrading your web browser.

WVU Libraries strongly recommends upgrading your web browser, but will continue to provide a site that will be functional in all web browsers.

  • A-Z Site Index  · 
  • Campus Map  · 
  • Directory  · 
  • Contact Us  · 
  • Hours  · 
  • WVU Home
  • Find
    • Articles
    • Books
    • Images
    • Movies
    • Sound & Video
    • Web Sites
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Copying
    • Depository Journals
    • Disabilities
    • Distance Education
    • eReserves & Reserves
    • Interlibrary Loan
    • Renew Books Online
    • Suggest a Purchase
  • Libraries & Collections
    • All Libraries & Collections
    • Appalachian Collection
    • Digital Collections
    • Government Information
    • Map Room
    • Media Services
    • Patents & Trademarks
    • Theses & Dissertations
  • Help & Instruction
    • Ask a Librarian
    • Classes
    • Computing
    • Faculty Information
    • Guides & Tutorials
    • Reference Online
    • Term Paper Clinic
  • Hours & Information
    • Driving Directions
    • Hours
    • Library Friends & News
    • Library History
    • Library Maps
    • Library Policies
    • Open-Access (OA)
    • Strategic Plan
    • Virtual Tour
  • Resources
  • Books
  • Census
  • Databases
  • Digital Collections
  • Folk Music
  • Genealogy
  • Guide to Archives & Manuscripts
  • History Bibliography
  • Newsletter
  • Newspapers
  • Online Exhibits
  • Photographic Archives
  • Public Records

  • Web Sites
  • Archival Records
  • Preservation Resources
  • WV History

  • Services
  • Copy Services & Fees
  • Instruction
  • Interlibrary Loan
  • Reference & Research

  • General Information
  • ADA Entrance
  • Directions
  • Hours
  • Parking
  • Policies
  • Volunteer
  • WV&RH Association

Databases for West Virginia History Research

The following databases are available to all users in the WVRHC Reading Room. WVU students, faculty, and staff may access some of these databases off campus.

Accessible Archives

Newspaper (18th and 19th Century) coverage of the Colonial Period, the French & Indian War, the Revolutionary War, African-American History and the Industrial Revolution.
Available: All Databases

America: History and Life

Provides bibliographic information and abstracts on U.S. and Canadian History for over 400,000 journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations (1964-present). Subject coverage pre-history to the present. Indexes many West Virginia History publications.
Available: All Databases

Ancestry Library Edition

With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.
ACCESSIBLE ONLY AT WEST VIRGINIA COLLECTION

Arts & Humanities Search

Arts & Humanities Search. A bibliographic citation index to literature in Arts and Humanities disciplines.
Available: All Databases 

HeritageQuest Online

The HeritageQuest Online genealogy and local history combines digital, searchable images of U S federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMIĀ® Genealogy and Local History collection.
ACCESSIBLE ONLY AT WEST VIRGINIA COLLECTION

WorldCat

Catalog of books and other materials in held in libraries worldwide.
Available: All Databases

West Virginia University Libraries
P.O. Box 6069 WVU
1549 University Ave
Morgantown, WV 26505-6069

Phone: 304.293.4040
Fax: 304.293.6638
Email: ask_a_librarian@mail.wvu.edu
© WVU Libraries