This site will work and look better in a modern Web browser that supports Web Standards such as XHTML and CSS. Please visit the WVU Libraries Web Browser Upgrade page for more information on upgrading your web browser.

WVU Libraries strongly recommends upgrading your web browser, but will continue to provide a site that will be functional in all web browsers.

  • A-Z Site Index  · 
  • Campus Map  · 
  • Directory  · 
  • Contact Us  · 
  • Hours  · 
  • WVU Home
  • Find
    • Articles
    • Books
    • Images
    • Movies
    • Sound & Video
    • Web Sites
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Copying
    • Depository Journals
    • Disabilities
    • Distance Education
    • eReserves & Reserves
    • Interlibrary Loan
    • Renew Books Online
    • Suggest a Purchase
  • Libraries & Collections
    • All Libraries & Collections
    • Appalachian Collection
    • Digital Collections
    • Government Information
    • Map Room
    • Media Services
    • Patents & Trademarks
    • Theses & Dissertations
  • Help & Instruction
    • Ask a Librarian
    • Classes
    • Computing
    • Faculty Information
    • Guides & Tutorials
    • Reference Online
    • Term Paper Clinic
  • Hours & Information
    • Driving Directions
    • Hours
    • Library Friends & News
    • Library History
    • Library Maps
    • Library Policies
    • Open-Access (OA)
    • Strategic Plan
    • Virtual Tour
  • Online Tutorials
  • EBSCOHost
  • Ejournals
  • FirstSearch
  • ILLiad
  • Lexis Nexis
  • MountainLynx
  • PubMed

Lexis-Nexis

Description:

Lexis-Nexis is the name of the company that provides us with a major full-text service. The three services we currently receive from Lexis-Nexis are: Academic, Congressional and Statistical. All of them provide nearly 100% full-text information. Academic Service provides access to a wide range of news, legal, medical and business information. Congressional Service provides CIS Index, congressional reports, testimonies, bills, laws, regulations, and much more. Statistical Service contains over 25,000 tables of state, federal, and international data.

Access:

At the Libraries’ home page, http://www.libraries.wvu.edu under Articles select either DATABASES or POPULAR DATABASES and then select Lexis-Nexis. Off campus access requires a password consisting of your day of birth and last four digits of your WVU ID number (for example, if your birth date is June 2 and your WVU ID number is 700999888, then log in with 029888.)

General Search Techniques:

On the Academic Search Form, select near the top of the screen the part you want to search (General, News, Business, Legal, Business, People). If you want articles from newspapers, magazines and journals covering a variety of subject areas, select GENERAL or NEWS and then type your search terms. You can select the sources you search within and specify a date range.

If you want to search articles from a particular source, click “Sources” tab near the top of the screen. Type in the name of the source (i.e. New York Times) on the far right side. Check the source and click on “OK - Continue” to limit your search to the named source. For example, after selecting New York Times as the source, type alternative fuels and then choose “Previous 2 years” as the time range.

Nearly everything you retrieve from Lexis-Nexis is in full text. At the results screen, simply click on the article title to view the entire content of the article. Similar to the other full-text databases, Lexis-Nexis offers you the options to print, e-mail, and download the articles as well as to export the citations.

Special Search Tips:

Because of the scope and complexity of Lexis-Nexis, it is difficult to detail the unique features of each different component. Before you start a search, you may find it helpful to look at the online tutorials or the HELP screen. Spend some time to explore the different components of Lexis-Nexis, and you will be amazed by the extraordinary scope and depth of the information covered.

Contact:

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact:

Jing Qiu
Reference Librarian and Coordinator, Bibliographic Instruction
293-0335
Jing.Qiu@mail.wvu.edu

West Virginia University Libraries
P.O. Box 6069 WVU
1549 University Ave
Morgantown, WV 26505-6069

Phone: 304.293.4040
Fax: 304.293.6638
Email: ask_a_librarian@mail.wvu.edu
© WVU Libraries