This site will work and look better in a modern Web browser that supports Web Standards such as XHTML and CSS. Please visit the WVU Libraries Web Browser Upgrade page for more information on upgrading your web browser.

WVU Libraries strongly recommends upgrading your web browser, but will continue to provide a site that will be functional in all web browsers.

  • A-Z Site Index  · 
  • Campus Map  · 
  • Directory  · 
  • Contact Us  · 
  • Hours  · 
  • WVU Home
  • Find
    • Articles
    • Books
    • Images
    • Movies
    • Sound & Video
    • Web Sites
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Copying
    • Depository Journals
    • Disabilities
    • Distance Education
    • eReserves & Reserves
    • Interlibrary Loan
    • Renew Books Online
    • Suggest a Purchase
  • Libraries & Collections
    • All Libraries & Collections
    • Appalachian Collection
    • Digital Collections
    • Government Information
    • Map Room
    • Media Services
    • Patents & Trademarks
    • Theses & Dissertations
  • Help & Instruction
    • Ask a Librarian
    • Classes
    • Computing
    • Faculty Information
    • Guides & Tutorials
    • Reference Online
    • Term Paper Clinic
  • Hours & Information
    • Driving Directions
    • Hours
    • Library Friends & News
    • Library History
    • Library Maps
    • Library Policies
    • Open-Access (OA)
    • Strategic Plan
    • Virtual Tour
  • Online Tutorials
  • EBSCOHost
  • Ejournals
  • FirstSearch
  • ILLiad
  • Lexis Nexis
  • MountainLynx
  • PubMed

FirstSearch

Description:

  • FirstSearch is a subscription database service made available through OCLC. It connects you to a wide range of subject material, links to the World Wide Web, to library holdings, and interlibrary loan. WVU has access to 19 individual databases through this service. Some of the most popular are:
  • Worldcat
  • ERIC
  • Dissertation Abstracts
  • Paper's First
  • RILM Music Abstracts
  • PAIS

Access:

In order to access FirstSearch, go to the libraries' home page. Under Articles, select Databases. The database page is arranged alphabetically; you can either scroll to FirstSearch, or you can select "F" from the menu and then choose FirstSearch. This database like many others, is available on or off campus. Off campus access requires a password consisting of your day of birth and last four digits of your WVU ID number (for example, if your birth date is June 2 and your WVU ID number is 700999888, then log in with 029888.)

General Searching Techniques:

  • If you are unsure of where to begin, I suggest you use either "List by Topic" or "Suggest Best" options available from the blue navigation menu. A "List by Topic" search allows you to select broad subject areas from a drop down menu and display the appropriate databases. "Suggest Best" allows you to use keyword, author, and source in combination with large subject areas based on the limits provided.
  • If you decide to begin from the opening search screen, you will notice that ArticleFirst and WorldCat are linked from this screen. Both are dynamic databases that will provide information on a variety of topics. You can also begin searching by keyword and pre-selected topics or keyword within a selected database using the search field box and the drop - down menu. There is also a "Jump to Advanced Searching" option where you can select a database and automatically have your search sent
    to the "Advanced" searching screen of the selected database. If you include a keyword with this option, it too will transfer to the search field of the selected database.
  • For a simple search (author, title, keyword), use "Basic Search". "Basic Search" is easy and allows simple searching in a single field. Just enter your term in the "Search For" box and use the "Search" button to begin.
  • For slightly more complex searching (multiple keyword or field searching, use of limits by language, dates, relevance, materials type, etc.), use " Advanced Search". Type the terms in the boxes, use the drop down menus to change your searching modes, and select the Boolean operators (AND OR NOT) that you wish to use for the search.
  • If you are adept at searching or if your search will require use of multiple synonyms, try "Expert Search". Type your terms in the "Search For" box, use the drop down menus, Boolean operators (AND OR NOT), and special characters (plurals, truncation symbols, wildcards, proximity search characters) to refine your search. All special characters are listed at the bottom of the "Expert Search" screen.
  • If you need to change databases but wish to retain your search strategy, both the "Advanced Search" and "Expert Search" options allow you to do so. Each page has an additional drop down menu, which contains a list of all available databases. All you need to do is select the database, click the " Search " button, and your previous search is performed in another database.
  • Results can be viewed individually, or you can select and mark a series of records to display as a group. After marking your records, you will need to use the blue navigation menu to collect the marked record set.
  • The email/save feature is similar to WilsonWeb. You can also email records to yourself or save your records to your hard drive or disk.
  • Notice also the "More like this" link available from the search record. This link will allow you to locate related material in different places and provides an additional option to expand or limit your search.

Special Features:

  • Currently you can check for the availability of material held at WVU by using the "Connect to the Catalog at West Virginia University Libraries" feature. If we own the item, Mountainlynx will display the physical location and call number of the material.
  • You might also want to try using the "Items in My Library" feature. This requires checking the option box and inserting West Virginia University's three letter symbol (WVU) into the "Library" field from the search screen. This will limit results to items available at WVU only. You still have to use the "Connect to the Catalog at West Virginia University Libraries" button to get to the catalog.
  • One more feature is the "External Links: Send Request to ILLiad". This option allows you to automatically transfer information found in FirstSearch to your interlibrary loan account.

Contact:

  • If you have questions please feel free to call or contact:

Martha C. Yancey
West Virginia University
Reference Librarian/Access Services Coordinator
Evansdale Library
P.O. Box 6105
Evansdale Dr.
Morgantown, WV 26506-6105
(304)293-5039
MYancey@wvu.edu

West Virginia University Libraries
P.O. Box 6069 WVU
1549 University Ave
Morgantown, WV 26505-6069

Phone: 304.293.4040
Fax: 304.293.6638
Email: ask_a_librarian@mail.wvu.edu
© WVU Libraries