Health Sciences & Medicine Databases

Academic Search Complete

Full Text

Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications....

(More Info)


AccessMedicine

Full Text New

This mini-version of AccessMedicine is an online resource for students, residents, clinicians, and researchers....

(More Info)


AccessPharmacy

Full Text New

AccessPharmacy is a comprehensive online resource for pharmacy education....

(More Info)


ADA Nutrition Care Manual

Full Text

The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) is a publication of the American Dietetic Association....

(More Info)


AgeLine

AgeLine is an online bibliographic database produced by AARP that focuses on the subject of aging and middle-aged and older adults....

(More Info)


Alt HealthWatch (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Alt HealthWatch focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness....

(More Info)


AMA Manual of Style Online

Full Text New

The AMA Manual of Style Online (10th ed....

(More Info)


American Men and Women of Science - 24th Edition

Full Text

Profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists....

(More Info)


Biological Abstracts - See Biosis Previews

Biosis Previews contains Biological Abstracts and more, searchable back to 1926 and cross-searchable with Web of Science....

(More Info)


Biopolymers Online

Full Text

Biopolymers Online provides a comprehensive overview of the occurrence, metabolism, and applications of all important biopolymer classes....

(More Info)


BIOSIS Previews

New

Index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more....

(More Info)


Center on Aging Policy Evidence Database

This online database was created to help scholars, policy analysts, and advocates stay on top of the latest research and innovations in aging care, including health care, social services, and workforce issues....

(More Info)


ChemIDplus

ChemIDplus is a free, web-based search system that provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases....

(More Info)


CINAHL With Full Text

Full Text

CINAHL with Full Text is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982....

(More Info)


Clinical Pharmacology

Full Text

Clinical Pharmacology is an electronic drug information and medication management resource....

(More Info)


Cochrane Library

Full Text

The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Reviews of Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials....

(More Info)


Consumer Health Complete (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text New

Consumer Health Complete is a portal for consumer health care information....

(More Info)


Contemporary Women's Issues

Covers a wide range of women's issues, providing global information on women in over 150 countries....

(More Info)


Dictionary of Scientific Biography (Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography)

Full Text

Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists....

(More Info)


Dissertation Abstracts Online

Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe, including abstracts for those written from 1980 to the present and covering all subject areas for which thesis research is conducted....

(More Info)


EbscoHost

Full Text

All EBSCOhost databases, cross-searchable, providing coverage for journal articles and other information in academic disciplines....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Animal Science

Full Text

Encyclopedia of Animal Science encompasses animal physiology, animal growth and development, animal behavior, animal reproduction and breeding, alternative approaches to animal maintenance, meat science and muscle biology, farmed animal welfare and bioethics, and food safety....

(More Info)


Encyclopedia of Life Sciences

Full Text

Provides access to articles covering all areas of life science, written by scientists and researchers- plus extensive tables and figures....

(More Info)


ExamMaster

Full Text New

Exam Master is an online test prep resource for the Health Sciences....

(More Info)


Faculty of 1000 Biology

Full Text New

Faculty of 1000 Biology is an online literature awareness service comprising thousands of selections and evaluations of the most important papers within all areas of biological research....

(More Info)


FirstSearch

A collection of online databases, providing coverage of much of the journal literature for academic disciplines....

(More Info)


FREIDA (Fellowship & Residency Electronic Interactive Database)

FREIDA Online is a database with over 8,600 graduate medical education programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, as well as over 200 combined specialty programs....

(More Info)


Google Scholar

Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research, with full text accessible via WVU Library subscriptions....

(More Info)


Handbook of Child Psychology 6th Edition

Full Text New

The handbook spans the entire field of child psychology including topics such as spirituality, social understanding, and non-verbal communication....

(More Info)


HAPI (Health & Psychosocial Instruments)

Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides access to information on measurement instruments (i....

(More Info)


Harrison's Online

Full Text New

Harrison's Online features the complete contents of the latest edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine....

(More Info)


Health Source: Consumer Edition

Full Text

This database provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health periodicals covering topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health....

(More Info)


Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines....

(More Info)


Household Products Health & Safety Information

This database links over 8,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients....

(More Info)


IndexCat

This is the online version of the print Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office, U....

(More Info)


International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA)

Provides indexing and abstracts for over 750 pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals that cover the entire spectrum of drug therapy and pharmaceutical information....

(More Info)


JBI COnNECT

Full Text New

JBI COnNECT is an online gateway to a collection of evidence-based resources and tools designed to assist in the clinical decision-making process and to support best practice....

(More Info)


Journal Citation Reports

Journal impact factors and citation data for 7,500 scholarly and technical journals....

(More Info)


JSTOR

Full Text

JSTOR is an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years....

(More Info)


Lexis Nexis Academic

Full Text

Provides full-text documents from over 5,900 newspapers (including the New York Times), magazines, business, legal, medical, and reference publications, including US federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news....

(More Info)


Masterfile Premier (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text New

Full text for nearly 1,750 general reference periodicals with information dating as far back as 1975....

(More Info)


MDConsult

Full Text

MD Consult Core Collection helps physicians answer clinical questions and stay abreast of recent developments by providing electronic access to 50 respected medical reference books, over 80 medical journals and clinics, MEDLINE, comprehensive drug information, more than 1000 clinical practice guidelines, over 10,000 customizable patient education handouts that patients can take home after an office visit or hospital stay, and online CME....

(More Info)


MEDLINE (EbscoHost)

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more....

(More Info)


MEDLINE (PubMed)

MEDLINE is a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences....

(More Info)


Mental Measurements Yearbook

Full Text

A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska....

(More Info)


netLibrary

Full Text

A collection of e-books covering a wide variety of subjects-- arts, humanities, business, education, computers, science, social science, and technology....

(More Info)


OT Search

OT Search is a bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas, such as rehabilitation, education, psychiatry or psychology, and health care delivery or administration....

(More Info)


PapersFirst

Conference papers, including all published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting papers received by The British Library Document Supply Centre....

(More Info)


Physical Education Index (CSA)

Physical Education Index provides scholarly and trade literature from 1970 to the present for physical education....

(More Info)


PILOTS

The PILOTS database is a freely-available electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events....

(More Info)


Points of View Reference Center (Courtesy of WVInfoDepot)

Full Text New

Term paper resources and topics - Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services....

(More Info)


POPLINE (POPulation Information onLINE)

POPLINE is the world's largest bibliographic reproductive health database....

(More Info)


PsycArticles

Full Text

Full text articles covering general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research....

(More Info)


PsychiatryOnline

Full Text

Web portal that includes the DSM-IV-TR and a selection of journals, practice guidelines and textbooks....

(More Info)


PsycINFO

Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology....

(More Info)


PubMed

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences....

(More Info)


Reference USA

Full Text

Find detailed information on 14 milllion US businesses, 100 million households, and nearly 1 million physicians and dentists....

(More Info)


Science Citation Index Expanded

Science Citation Index Expanded, a part of the Web of Science is made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp....

(More Info)


ScienceDirect

Full Text

ScienceDirect is an electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full-text, peer-reviewed articles....

(More Info)


Sport Discus Full Text

Full Text

SPORTDiscus offers bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines....

(More Info)


State Academies of Science Abstracts

The mission of State Academies of Science Abstracts is to provide a vehicle for the systematic, periodic examination of scholarly research activities of the State Academies of Science of the United States....

(More Info)


TOXNET

TOXNET is a free search service from the National Library of Medicine that includes a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas....

(More Info)


UpToDate

Full Text New

UpToDate is a point-of-care tool that synthesizes knowledge for clinicians and patients....

(More Info)


Web of Knowledge

Use the Web of Knowledge to search multiple science databases including the Web of Science and BIOSIS Reviews....

(More Info)


Web of Science

The Web of Science includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, and is made available with funding from the WVU Research Corp....

(More Info)


Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering

Full Text

The Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering contains a large biomedical engineering (BME) knowledge base....

(More Info)


Popular Databases

Databases By Subject

Subjects

Full Text
New Databases
Trial Databases

Databases By Title

Databases by Resource Type

News

  • Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology now available online. Find authoritative and up-to-date scholarship in sociology and related disciplines.
  • Welcome to the newly designed database access page. Your comments are welcome. You will find the "Contact Us" link at the top of this page.